Jul 24, 2024  
2021-2022 UMass Dartmouth Undergraduate Catalog 
2021-2022 UMass Dartmouth Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Introduction to the University

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth is a vibrant and innovative public research university located on a 710-acre campus in the south coast of Massachusetts. In 2019-2020, UMassD had 58 undergraduate majors, 34 graduate programs of study, and 16 doctoral programs including the Juris Doctorate. Total enrollment was more than 8,100 and the university has more than 54,000 alumni.

UMass Dartmouth history

UMass Dartmouth traces its roots to 1895, when the state legislature chartered the New Bedford Textile School and the Bradford Durfee Textile School in Fall River. As the region’s economic base shifted from textiles to more diverse manufacturing and service industries, these institutions changed. By the middle of the 20th century, the schools were growing rapidly, spurred by economic and cultural trends, and became multipurpose institutions, preparing engineers, health care workers, teachers, and business leaders.

In 1962, the state legislature created Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute (SMTI) by merging the New Bedford Textile School and the Bradford Durfee Textile School. The Dartmouth location was selected for SMTI, and the dramatic campus design was the work of world-renowned architect Paul Rudolph. The new campus opened in 1964. Responding to the public demand for a comprehensive university in the region, SMTI became Southeastern Massachusetts University in 1969.

In 1988, the Swain School of Design merged with the university’s College of Visual and Performing Arts.

In 1991, the campus became UMass Dartmouth, joining a new University of Massachusetts system that also includes campuses in Amherst, Boston, Lowell, and Worcester.

In 1994, UMass Dartmouth received approval to offer its first PhD degree in Electrical Engineering. The campus now offers 14 doctoral programs including the juris doctor.

In 1997, construction was completed for the School for Marine Science and Technology (SMAST), located on 2.6 acres in New Bedford near Buzzards Bay. A new SMAST building and extensive renovations to the original facility were completed in 2017. SMAST offers master’s and PhD programs.

In 2001, the university opened its College of Visual and Performing Arts facility in downtown New Bedford in the former Star Department Store. The facility has been a catalytic force in the development of the community’s creative economy.

The Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, which was originally called the Advanced Technology and Manufacturing Center, opened in Fall River in 2001. The 60,000-square-foot business incubator features office, research and development space for start-up companies in fields like acoustics, optics, telecommunications, materials, textiles and environmental engineering, as well as conference space. It was renamed as in 2015.

UMass Dartmouth was awarded the authority to grant law degrees in 2010, and the University of Massachusetts School of Law - Dartmouth, was created. UMass Law, the Commonwealth’s only public law school, was fully accredited by the American Bar Association in 2016.

In 2016, UMass Dartmouth was designated by Carnegie as a Doctoral Research University - R2, recognizing the significant level of research at the university.

During the first decade of the 21st century, UMass Dartmouth has continued to grow in size and impact. The campus residential population is about 3,600 students, and the research enterprise attracts $26.1 million. In addition, the university’s commitment to civic engagement has generated 257,000 hours of service to the community, valued at $8 million.

Campus Locations

UMass Dartmouth is located in Dartmouth and New Bedford.

  • Dartmouth Main Campus – 285 Old Westport Road, Dartmouth, MA 02747
  • UMass Law  – 333 Faunce Corner Road, Dartmouth, MA 02747
  • New Bedford Star Store  – 715 Purchase Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
  • New Bedford School for Marine Science & Technology (SMAST)  – 836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford, MA 02744 and 706 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford, MA 02744

University Advancement

University Advancement builds and fosters relationships, creates meaningful communication, drives funding, engages audiences, and partners with groups across campus to promote and support the UMass Dartmouth mission. University Advancement oversees marketing, media relations, government relations, fundraising, and alumni engagement.

Alumni Relations Office

The Alumni Relations Office serves as the liaison between the university and 57,000 proud UMass Dartmouth alumni worldwide. In concert with the UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association, the Alumni Relations Office promotes and fosters lifelong alumni connections, participation and involvement through a variety of programs and events available to both alumni and students. Additionally, the UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association offers scholarships to qualified students on an annual basis
For more information about the Alumni Relations Office or the UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association, visit the Alumni website, alumni.umassd.edu, call 508.999.8031 or e-mail alumni@umassd.edu

The University of Massachusetts

The University of Massachusetts is a comprehensive public research university system renowned for the quality of its academic programs, the scope and excellence of its research, and its enduring adherence to its public service mission.


The University of Massachusetts system’s mission is to provide an affordable and accessible education of high quality and to conduct programs of research and public service that advance knowledge and improve the lives of the people of the Commonwealth, the nation, and the world.


The University of Massachusetts was established in 1863 as the Massachusetts Agricultural College, located in Amherst. It became known as the Massachusetts State College in 1932 and in 1947 became the University of Massachusetts. The Worcester and Boston campuses were established in 1962 and 1964, respectively. The Lowell and Dartmouth campuses (previously the University of Lowell and Southeastern Massachusetts University, respectively) were consolidated into the University under Chapter 142 of the Acts of 1991.


The University of Massachusetts is governed by:

  • A single Board of Trustees composed of 19 voting members and three non-voting members.
  • The President of the University, located in Boston, oversees the five-campus system; and support offices are located in Shrewsbury.
  • Chancellors are located at each University of Massachusetts campus:
    • UMass Amherst
    • UMass Boston
    • UMass Dartmouth
    • UMass Lowell
    • UMass Medical School (Worcester)